About Us

The Baltimore Baby Bonus Fund campaign is 100% volunteer-powered. Our leadership team and volunteer base are comprised of individuals working in City Schools, education management, public defense, union organizing, parent advocacy, medical sales, speech-language pathology, urban farming, and more. We are proud to be a people-powered campaign!

Nate Golden


Nate (he/him) is the President and Founder of the Maryland Child Alliance as well as a math teacher in Baltimore City Schools. Nate believes that all poverty is a policy failure and is actively involved in advocating for policy that reduces and eliminates poverty.


Emily Yu

Campaign Manager

Emily (she/her) is a high school English teacher in Baltimore City. Through her work as a teacher and advocate of the Baltimore Baby Bonus fund, she aims to serve the Baltimore community and help ensure that children, students, and community members have the tools they need. Emily is passionate about educational equity and is grateful to call Baltimore home. 


Julia Ellis

Media Chair

Julia (she/her) is an education consultant and former elementary school teacher in Baltimore City. She is an alumna of the Urban Leaders Fellowship and is passionate about early childhood literacy and community schools. Through her role in the Maryland Child Alliance, Julia seeks to fight for the people, policies, and programs that support Baltimore's children. 


Chelsea Zou

Lead Canvasser

Chelsea (she/her) is a third grade teacher in Baltimore city. She is committed to supporting Baltimore's families and communities and ensuring that students have every opportunity to thrive and grow in this city.


Hope Heikes

Lead Canvasser

Hope is a bilingual pediatric speech-language pathologist. She is passionate about supporting parents as they support their children. My dream is that every child in Baltimore city has what they need to learn and grow.

Gavin Buckland

Treasurer and Lead Canvasser

Nick Lal

Lead Canvasser and Fundraising Chair

Ally Hirsch

Lead Canvasser

Travis Acton

Lead Canvasser and Endorsements Chair

Kevin Miller

Lead Canvasser

Denise Zavala


Andy Renteria


Alexa Garcia


Caleb Zhou


Sawyer Hicks


Carlyn Mast

MDCA Board Member & Canvasser

Kelsey Ko


professional photographs provided by Brandon Rau Photography rauphotography.mypixieset.com/